skip navigation

History of Summerlin South Little League


Little League started in Summerlin, a 22,500-acre master-planned community located along the western rim of the Las Vegas Valley, in 1994 with the formation of the Summerlin Little League. 

By 2006, Little League baseball had become such a hit in Summerlin that its burgeoning Little League had to be divided.  During the 2006 season, the league was formed into two divisions, Summerlin North and Summerlin South.  In Spring 2007, the league was formally divided and the parent league was renamed Summerlin North Little League and the new Summerlin South Little League was born.

In its first season, Summerlin South Little League had 270 players on 23 teams spread across 6 age divisions.  That same season, the league helped dedicate Summerlin's newly constructed Vistas Park with a ceremonial April opening that featured "first pitches" thrown by Las Vegas City Councilman Steve Wolfson; Summerlin Sam, the Summerlin Community's jackrabbit mascot; and Summerlin Council Executive Director Randy Ecklund.

The Vistas Park, the league's first home, is a 20-plus-acre facility featuring two lighted baseball fields, a concession stand, two lighted tennis courts, a lighted basketball court, group picnic pavilion, children's play area and Summerlin's first football field.

In late 2009, the Summerlin Council completed construction of its new Mesa Park at the base of the foothills of southern Summerlin.  This 19-acre park features large open play areas, two lighted tennis courts, three little league baseball fields, a basketball court, tot lot and covered picnic ramadas.  It immediately became the new home of Summerlin South Little League (although the league continues to use the Vistas Park) and is known around the Las Vegas Valley as one of the finest Little League facilities anywhere. 



As the league grew in size and talent, the Board of Directors added new divisions to better enhance the development of the league's players. 

In 2009, the league added a fall season and has since hosted two seasons each year.

In 2011, the league divided the Tee Ball division into two separate divisions:  Tee Ball for 4 & 5-year olds and Rookies (coach pitch) for 5 & 6-year olds.  Teams in both divisions are chartered in Little League International's Tee Ball Division. 

This change meant that the former Rookies division (machine pitch), which was chartered as part of Little League International's Minors Division, would renamed the Minors A division -- the same name it carries today.

In 2014, the league changed the names of the Tee Ball and Rookies divisions to Tee Ball Minors and Tee Ball Majors at the request of Little League's Nevada District 4 staff. 

In Fall 2013, the league chartered teams in Little League's new Intermediate (50/70) division for the first time.  The league sponsored 50/70 teams in the Fall 2013 and 2014 seasons and added a 50/70 division to its Spring division structure starting in 2015.

The league's expansion was not complete, however.  In November 2014, the Board of Directors announced that, in conjunction with neighboring Summerlin North Little League and Peccole Little League, it would charter teams in Little League's Girls Softball Division for the first time.  Girls softball play began in the Spring 2015 season with teams in the Majors and two Minors divisions. 


From its inaugural 2007 season with 270 players on 23 baseball teams, Summerlin South Little League has grown to more than 800 players on over 70 teams in baseball, softball, and tee ball.



Summerlin South Little League has a proud history of volunteer service.  Beyond the many managers, coaches, team parents, and scorekeepers, the Officers and Directors of Summerlin South Little League have given countless hours to build the organization into what it is today.